Siniya Island

Introduction

Siniya Island is located one kilometer, east of Umm Al Quwain city, they are separated by Umm Al Quwain creek. The length of the island is about eight kilometers, and its width extends up to four miles. The island was of great historical importance, as residents of Umm Al Quwain have settled in it when they moved from Mulah Island, led by Sheikh Majid bin Rashid Al Mualla, two hundred years ago. Many years later, people of Umm Al Quwain have then, moved from the Siniya Island to Umm Al Quwain. Siniya Island is, topographically, flat and characterized by the existence of Mangroves, Ghaf trees and superficial plants. The island is a natural park where deers, seagulls, eagles, herons and cormorants live. There are 65 different archaeological sites in the island that contain some graves, structural remains, psoriasis hills and towers.

Firstly: The graves

There are many individual graves scattered on the outskirts of the island as well as the mass graves. Each cemetery contains from ten to one hundred tombs.

Graves’ properties: -

1 - The tomb has two "witness" columns and the Temple opens towards north-south structure, directly to Qiblah. 2 - External walls of some graves were bounded with a row of marine stones. 3 - It appears that the graves referred to fishermen and seasonal residents of the island.

Second: Towers

There are two towers in the island, known locally as "Burj Nahar and Burj Al Bahar», they are used to illuminate for the ships.

Burj Nahar:

It is rectangular, (6.58 x 4.48 cm), 6.87 cm high, consists of two floors, built of stone with mud and was covered with cement. The door of the tower (162 x 100 cm), leads to the first floor. On the right side of the entrance, there is a stairway consists of 13 degrees leading to the second floor of the recently wood roofed tower; it was based on wooden beams. The wall is characterized by seven windows overlooking towards all directions and it was used for lighting, ventilation and monitoring. There is an external control window in the center of each interface. It is worth mentioning that there is, on the ground floor, a water tank; its dimensions are (220 x 85 cm) and it is of (66 cm) depth. This tank is constructed of cement occupies part.

Burj Al Bahar:

It is rectangle (502 × 492) cm, it resembles the other tower, and the entrance width reached 170 cm, its height is 89 cm. The top part is thin in both towers.

Thirdly: The mounds of Shells

The Island contains some mounds of oyster shells, molluscs and others; they might have been used a food source for fishermen.

Fourth: Stone Circles

The island contains (29) locations of stone circles spread intensively on the edge of the western shore of the island. Each circle is composed of a group of marine stones (brushes) , placed in the form of a pile of stones, their diameters range between 1 m and 2 m. These holes were used as burning stoves for cooking. No broken potteries are found there, so it is likely, referred to pre- Islamic period.

Fifth: Building Remains

On the eastern shore of the island, remains of marine stones buildings are discovered. These remains took the shape of panels (Slaps) for small wide rooms of 1 pm - 2 p.m., they were likely residents for fishermen, as heaps of broken potteries used for storing fishes by salting and smoking them, are found on the island, as well as some intact pottery jars which could be dated according to the similar fracture that found in the United Arab Emirates. They are divided into several types as follows: -

First: Local pottery:-

This type is thick, rough and its color is reddish-brown. It followed the style of Julfar and dated between the seventeenth century and the nineteenth century.

Secondly: Glazed potteries:

- Monochrome glazed potteries.

 

- Under paint glazed potteries.

 

Dating to the late Islamic era, between seventeenth and nineteenth century).

 

Third: Pottery imported from Oman and Yemen:

This type of potteries was characterized by its pure pink, creamy and brown color. It is glazed in dark and greenish brown and dated to the late Islamic era (the fourth century - the seventh century AD).

Fourth: Abbasi Pottery:

The paste of Abbasi Pottery is of pure pink and creamy color, glazed in pale green. It is dated to the Abbasid period (ninth century - the second century AD).

Fifth: The Chinese celadon:

This type of potteries was characterized by its pure scorched, well burned paste. It is dated to the era between XIII and XIV.

Sixth: Chinese porcelain Pottery:

It is characterized thin paste and different decorations. It is dated to the nineteen century.

جزيرة السينية

المقدمة

تقع جزيرة السينية على بعد واحد كيلو متر شرق مدينة أم القيوين ، يفصل بينهما خور أم القيوين ، ويبلغ طول الجزيرة حوالي ثمانية كيلومترات ، وعرضها في أقصاها أربعة كيلومتر . للجزيرة أهمية تاريخية كبيرة فقد استوطنها أهالي أم القيوين عند انتقالهم من جزيرة ملاح بقيادة الشيخ ماجد بن راشد المعلا- رحمه الله – قبل حوالي مائتي عام ، ثم انتقل أهل أم القيوين بعد ذلك من جزيرة السينية إلى أم القيوين . وتمتاز طبوغرافية الجزيرة بأنها مستوية ينمو فيها أشجار القرم والغاف ونباتات سطحية ، وهي محمية طبيعية يعيش فيها الظباء وطيور النورس والنسر ومالك الحزين والغاق . للجزيرة أهمية أثرية كبيرة فهي تحتوي على 65 موقع أثري متنوعين مابين القبور والبقايا البنائية والتلال الصدفية والأبراج .

أولا : القبور

يوجد العديد من القبور الفردية منتشرة في أطراف الجزيرة بالإضافة إلى القبور الجماعية التي يتراوح عدد القبور في كل مقبرة من عشرة إلى مائة قبر .

خصائص القبور :-

1-ان القبر له شاهدين واتجاه الهيكل شمال جنوب باتجاه القبلة . 2-بعض القبور جدرانها الخارجية محددة بصف من الحجارة البحرية . 3-يبدو أن القبور هي للصيادين ولساكني الجزيرة بشكل موسمي .

ثانيا : الأبراج

يوجد بالجزيرة برجان معروفان محلياً بــ " برج النهار وبرج البحر" يستخدمان لإنارة السفن . برج النهار : على شكل مستطيل ( 6,58 × 4,48 سم ) وارتفاعه 6,87 سم ويتألف من طابقين بني من الحجر والطين وأعيد تغطيته بالإسمنت ، والدخول إلى البرج من باب أبعاده 162×100 سم يفضي إلى الطابق الأول ، وعلى يمين الداخل درج يتكون من 13 درجة تؤدي إلى الطابق الثاني للبرج المسقوف بخشب حديث ، ارتكز على عوارض خشبية ، وفتح في الجدار سبعة نوافذ تطل على كافة الاتجاهات أعدت للإضاءة والتهوية والمراقبة ويتوسط كل واجهة من الخارج نافذة للمراقبة . ومن الجدير بالذكر أن هناك خزان ماء إبعاده (220 × 85 سم) وعمقه (66سم) مشيد من الإسمنت يشغل جزءاً من أرضية الطابق الأرضي . برج البحر : على شكل مستطيل 502 × 492 سم تصميمه يشبه تصميم البرج الآخر ، يبلغ اتساع مدخله 170 سم وارتفاعه 89 سم ويستدق البناء في كلا البرجين من الأعلى .

ثالثاً : تلال الأصداف

تحتوي الجزيرة على تلال أصداف تمثل المحار والرخويات وغيرها ويبدو أنها كانت أحد مصادر الغذاء للصيادين .

رابعاً: الدوائر الحجرية

تحتوي الجزيرة على (29) موقعا عبارة عن دوائر حجرية تنتشر بشكل كثيف على حافة الشاطئ الغربي للجزيرة ، والدائرة الواحدة تتألف من مجموعة من الأحجار البحرية (فرش) وضعت على شكل كومة من الحجارة ، ويبلغ أقطارها ما بين (1م - 2 م) . تعتبر هذه الحفر مواقد وآثار الحرق واضح بها وقد استعمل الموقد لأغراض طهي الطعام ولعدم وجود كسر فخارية من المرجح أنه يعود لفترة أقدم من الفترة الإسلامية .

خامساً: بقايا بنائية

كشف على الشاطئ الشرقي للجزيرة مجموعة من البقايا البنائية شيدت من الحجارة البحرية وهي على شكل ألواح ( Slaps) لغرف صغيرة أتساعها ما بين 1م – 2 م ومن المرجح أنها للصيادين حيث عثر على كميات من الكسر الفخارية عليها آثار حرق لجرار تخزين لخزن الأسماك وحفظها بطريقة التمليح والتدخين . تم العثور بجزيرة السينية على العديد من الكسر الفخارية بالإضافة إلى بعض الجرار الكاملة ويمكننا تأريخ هذه الكسر اعتماداً على الكسر المتشابهة التي وجدت بالإمارات العربية المتحدة وهي تنقسم إلى عدة أنواع كالآتي :-

أولاً: الفخار محلي الصنع :

ظهر فخار محلي الصنع امتازت عجينته بالسماكة والخشونة وذات لون قرميدي وبني ضارب إلى الحمرة وهي من النمط المعروف بفخار جلفار المتأخر والمؤرخ ما بين القرن السابع عشر والتاسع عشر الميلادي .

ثانياً : الفخار المزججة :

- فخار مزجج أحادي اللون .

- فخار مزجج بزخارف تحت الطلاء .

ويؤرخ إلى العصر الإسلامي المتأخر ( القرن السابع عشر - التاسع عشر الميلادي ) .

ثالثاً : الفخار المستورد من عمان واليمن :

ويمتاز بأن عجينته نقية ذات لون وردي وكريمي وبني ، ومزجج باللون البني الغامق والبني المخضر ويؤرخ إلى العصر الإسلامي المتأخر من (القرن الرابع عشر - السابع عشر الميلادي ) .

رابعاً : فخار عباسي :

العجينة نقية ذات لون وردي وكريمي ، مزجج باللون الأخضر الباهت ، ويؤرخ إلى الفترة العباسية من (القرن التاسع – الثاني عشر الميلادي) .

خامساً : تقليد السيلادون الصيني :

ويمتاز بأن عجينته سميكة ونقية ومحروقة حرقاً جيداً ويؤرخ ما بين القرن (الثالث عشر والرابع عشر) .

سادساً : تقليد البورسلان الصيني :

ويمتاز بزخارفه وعجينة رقيقة ويؤرخ إلى القرن التاسع عشر الميلادي .